Have I mentioned that time is flying by????

by tamisawyer

Good grief it just seems to always be Friday and then it’s always Monday. I had the best weekend ever. Megan and Blake came to see me both Saturday and Sunday. We had so much fun. We actually played Monopoly both days and if you have ever played, you know, it takes a long time to finish a game, and in fact we didn’t get to finish either day. On Saturday I can pretty much guarantee you that at least every 4th time I got to roll the darn dice I was told either by landing on Go To Jail, Go Directly To Jail, if you pass go, DO NOT collect $200, or I drew the darn community chest card that told me…GO TO JAIL! Does anyone else think that’s weird? I kept telling Blake who is the world’s biggest rule follower that I am already in jail and in fact he’s sitting in the jail with me, so he should just let me roll again and not have to sit in the Monopoly jail, but no! He insisted that we follow the rules. Megan on the other hand would have let me slide, easy peasy!

My good friend Sharon left today to go home. I know in my heart she is going to do great and I am so happy for her. She was super excited. I told her she is going to be the first person on my “adopt an inmate” program where I am linking up great people from the outside to give her good guidance if she needs someone to talk to. I can’t wait to see how she does.

Okay here is a fun tidbit from inside the Federal Jail. Do you know…..that I can get a massage for 45 minutes, for $5.00? I can get my laundry done for the entire month, washed, dried, folded and ironed and back in my room for $15.00 per month, my room cleaned every day for coffee and creamer for the month, and private yoga lessons for $1.00 per time and they last for an hour, a haircut for $3.00 and a pedicure for $4.00? Isn’t that amazing? Plus my room mate strings my eyebrows whenever I want and she teaches me any type of crocheting, cross stitching, sewing anything I need to know how to do for free! I wouldn’t recommend coming to jail to take advantage of these huge savings but if you were to find your self here, it’s quite a bonus!

I have a new friend here. Her name is Miss Toni. She reminds me of an exact image of what and who Mother Teresa would be had I ever had the privilege of meeting her. She is from Jamaica and is getting out March 6, after 15 years here! She is a beautiful woman inside and out. She is a little bitty thing and unfortunately walks with a cane now because while here she developed a tumor on her spine that kept paralizing her slowly before some of the guards here really demanded that the medical unit take her seriously. She was in the hospital for 9 days when they removed it and it left here paralyzed partially on her right side. She is on fire for the Lord and it shows!!!! I can’t tell you how much I enjoy her company.

Krista got out of the shoe this week. She is the one that threatened to kill Obama 9 times, that has Thug Life tattooed on her fingers. She came in and we all stopped dead in our tracks because her hair was a hot mess. When I asked her what on earth happened in the month she was gone she said her room mate over there told her to put dreads in her hair. Soooooo that’s what she attempted to do. We immediately sat her down 3 of us and told her we were taking them out! It took 3 hours on a Friday night for us to do that. She had put pancake syrup in her hair and ratted it after she twisted it up! It was horrible! She was sitting in a chair and Sharon looked at me and said “Tamara, go get your comb and brush” with horror on my face all I could do is shake my head no!!!! She had not washed her hair once in the month she was over there. I finally felt convicted and terrible about how selfish I was being so I got my comb because I could lysol it after we used it, but I will admit I wasn’t about to give up my brush! The entire time I kept thinking to myself….really?????? This is what I am doing on my Friday night??? Oh Well, it was worth it she was so appreciative!

I promise I will write more later.

